Four Elected to Sunrise Credit Union Board of Directors


Sunrise Credit Union is pleased to announce the election of four members from District Three (Baldur, Boissevain, Brandon, Cypress River, Holland, Treherne) to our Board of Directors following the conclusion of member voting earlier this week.

Glenn Young and Craig Spencer are returning to the Board, while Steve Langston and Gord Dearsley will be Directors for the first time. They will start three-year terms on Board in April.

Young first joined the Board at the inception of Sunrise Credit Union in 2008 after 22 years as a board member with Cypress River Credit Union. He currently serves as chair of the Board.

Spencer became a Director in 2019 after a 33-year career as a public school teacher. He
was formerly a Tiger Hills Credit Union director from 1993 to 2008.

Langston is a local entrepreneur who owns and operates a video production and digital
marketing company. He also re-develops real estate in rural communities and recently
launched a non-profit thrift store three years ago.

Dearsley is the Financial Officer for a not-for-profit organization in charge of vulnerable
individuals and a life insurance advisor. He is a former municipal CAO for a rural
community in Manitoba and was also Chief Financial Officer for a Toronto-based firm.

The terms for Young, Spencer, Langston, and Dearsley will be ratified by members at
Sunrise Credit Union Annual General Meeting, tentatively scheduled for April 19, 2022.

We also wish to recognize the contributions of outgoing Board member Lon Cullen, who
served on the Board of Directors since 2013 and was the first new director from Brandon. Cullen’s current term will end in April.