Gladstone upsets Killarney in capturing THHL Title, Grandview wins NCHL

Photo: Gladstone Lakers Facebook

The Gladstone Lakers upended the Killarney Shamrocks 4-3 on Saturday evening to capture the Tiger Hills Hockey League title. The Lakers received goals from four different skaters in the contest as Eric Beaudin, Trey Evenson, Nick Stire, and Sean Kubas each found the back of the net once. Beaudin also chipped in with two assists as did Jesse Toth. Jesse Bernard, Bryce Lamb & Isaac Friensen replied with goals for the Shamocks.  The Lakers won the best of 5 series 3 games to 1 and Lakers forward Jordon Geddes was named the 2018 Blaine Jarvis Memorial Playoff MVP.

Earlier in the week the Grandview Comets won the North Central Hockey League title after sweeping Miniota-Elkhorn 3-0 in their best of 5 series.  Jason Shaw was the overtime hero in game 3 scoring the OT winner.  Jerron Kyle added two goals for the Comets, while Devron Jakeman, and Luke Stokotelny each chipped in with singles.

The Comets and Lakers now advance to the Senior A Provincials which begin Thursday in Rivers.


Thurs. March 29 @ Rivers, Gladstone vs Grandview 8:00 P.M.
Sat. March 31 @ Bell / MTS, Grandview vs CSHL 3:30 P.M.
Sat. March 31 @ Bell / MTS, Carman vs Gladstone 3:45 P.M.
Sunday, April 1 @ Bell / MTS, CSHL vs Carman  12:30 P.M.
Sat. April 7 @ Bell / MTS, CSHL vs Gladstone  7:00 P.M.
Sat. April 7 @ Bell / MTS, Grandview vs Carman  7:15 P.M.
Sun. April 8 @ Bell / MTS, CHAMPIONSHIP # 2 vs # 1 2:30 P.M.