Jacobson claims 60th annual Grey Owl

Rate This Article

Brandon’s Jared Jacobson birdied the last three holes on Sunday to capture the 60th annual Grey Owl golf tournament, presented by IG Wealth Management, in thrilling fashion.

Jacobson, who plays a lot of his golf at Clear Lake Golf Course, looked right at home as he rolled in a 12-foot birdie putt on 18 to fire a 2-under-par 70. Wheat City Golf Course’s Ross Sheard missed a four-foot putt on 18 that would have forced a playoff.

Jacobson’s 1-under total of 141 was good enough for his second Grey Owl championship. He also won in 2014.

Sheard had a two-shot lead on first-round leader Noel Ngo and a four-shot edge on Jacobson standing on the 16th tee, but he bogeyed the short par 4 while Ngo and Jacobson birdied. Jacobson then pulled within one of Sheard when he rolled in a 12-footer on the par-3 17th for birdie. Sheard parred and Ngo bogeyed, so Sheard had a one-shot edge on both of them going into the final hole.

Jacobson, 42, hit a gap wedge to 12 feet, while Sheard put his approach shot on the front left portion of the green, about 30 feet away. Sheard’s putt rolled about four feet past the hole, and then Jacobson stepped up and rolled his putt in for his third straight birdie. Sheard could have forced extra holes, but his four-footer slid just past the right edge.

Sheard (71-71—142) and Ngo (70-72—142) tied for second, while defending champion Jay Thiesen of Russel (72-77—149) and Shilo’s Nolan Tutkaluk (75-74—149) tied for fourth.

Tim Lynch of Williston, N.D. (79-72—151) won the Greyer Owl title for those age 60 and over.

Stephen Johnston of QX104 and 94.3 The Drive won his fifth Media Flight title with scores of 87 and 81 for a 168 total.

The Grey Owl was played for the first time since 2019 due to the COVID-19 pandemic, and 261 golfers participated.


Jared Jacobson, Brandon 71-70—141
Noel Ngo, Pine Ridge 70-72—142
Ross Sheard, Wheat City 71-71—142
Jay Thiesen, Russell 72-77—149
Nolan Tutkaluk, Shilo 75-74—149
Brett Janz, Portage            74-76—150
Trent Wood, Elmhurst       74-77—151
Marcus Friess, Estevan, SK     72-79—151
Todd Slatnik, Winnipeg     75-78—153
Steven Young, St. Charles    74-80—154
Garth Collings, Breezy Bend     75-81—156
Murray Lindenberg, Brandon    71-86—157
Doug Stinchcombe, Clear Lake   75-86—161

(Submitted by Kirk Penton)