Sunrise Credit Union’s Awards $24,000 in Scholarships

Rate This Article

Sunrise Credit Union, with its commitment to academic excellence and community development, offers 14 scholarships totalling $24,000 to students across southwestern Manitoba. The selection process was rigorous, with 60 applicants. A six-person committee scored each application on academics, leadership, extracurricular activities, volunteerism, community involvement, and essay quality.

St. Alphonse’s Laura Delichte received the largest scholarship: $5,000 for a high-school graduate seeking post-secondary education. Delichte’s high school career has been a testament to her work ethic, achieving honour roll with distinction each year while participating in many extracurricular activities, including various school sports and committees. Delichte also made it a priority to give back to and be involved in her community. Her community involvement includes, but is not limited to, involvement with the 4-H club, lifeguarding and teaching swimming lessons, refereeing middle years and scorekeeping high school sports, and volunteering with St. Alphonse & District Foundation’s pumpkin cart.

Delichte will attend the University of Manitoba in the fall. Upon graduating from the agriculture diploma program, she plans to pursue a degree in agribusiness and secure a job at a rural financial institution. Her goal is to help small family farms be financially sustainable for future generations and assist the ag industry in continuing to play a significant role in rural Manitoba.

Each year, Sunrise Credit Union employs students in various positions throughout the organization. Abbigail Conrad of Swan Lake received the $3,000 scholarship awarded to a Sunrise Credit Union Summer Student. Meanwhile, Elizabeth Greig of Melita received the $3,000 scholarship for a first-year student continuing their education at Brandon University, and Lindsay Wytinck of Glenboro received the $3,000 scholarship for a first-year student continuing their education at Assiniboine Community College.

Ten $1,000 scholarships were awarded to a diverse group of high school students from various communities in southwestern Manitoba. These students, each with unique aspirations and potential, are seeking post-secondary education this fall. The recipients include Shaylee Frattinger (Elkhorn), Kendra Wytinck (Cypress River), Siena McMillan (Brandon), Nadia Nickel (Solsgirth), Raelee Brasch (Grandview), Ainsley Boulanger (Hartney), Anna Forbes (Glenboro), Carys Wytinck (Bruxelles), Dominique Lansing (Virden), and Nicholas Hiscock (Brandon).

Sunrise Credit Union would like to thank all 60 applicants and extend a heartfelt congratulations to the scholarship recipients. Best of luck to all applicants and the entire graduating class of 2024 in your future endeavours.