THHL kicks off Friday, NCHL down to four teams


The THHL kicks off this Friday with a trio of games slated to take to the ice. The league has expanded by one team (14 total) as the Virden Oil Kings joins the league, moving over from the NCHL. A 12-game regular season is on tap for the 2020/21 season, as each team will play a home-and-home with teams inside their own division.

The Grandview Comets, Miniota-Elkhorn C-Hawks, Russell Rams and Swan Valley Axemen will be the 4 teams competing in the NCHL this season. Four teams from last year will not participate this season. As noted above, the Virden Oil Kings joined the Tiger Hills Hockey League. The Waywayseecappo Warriors elected not to return while the Langenburg Warriors and Moosomin Rangers are not being allowed by Hockey Saskatchewan to play outside of the province due to COVID-19 rules. Teams will play 12-game regular season, stating hopefully on November 13.