Wheat Kings announce BOUNCE 96.1 as radio broadcast partner


The Brandon Wheat Kings are excited to announce that iHeartRadio Canada’s BOUNCE 96.1 will once again be the official broadcast home of the hockey club.

The new agreement with Bell Media restores one of the oldest broadcast partnerships in the Canadian Hockey League. CKX was the official radio & TV partner of the Wheat Kings in all but two seasons from 1947 to 1991, a span that saw the club play in the Manitoba Junior Hockey League, Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League, Western Canada Hockey League, and the Western Hockey League.

“This is an exciting time for the Brandon Wheat Kings as we get set for the new season,” said Wheat Kings Owner & Governor Jared Jacobson. “There is a great history between these two organizations. CKX told the story of the Wheat Kings for more than 45 years on both radio and TV and now we will work together again to bring our broadcast content to the next level on BOUNCE 96.1.”

Branden Crowe returns to the broadcast booth for his sixth season as the voice of the Wheat Kings while long-time analyst Peter Gerlinger will be joined by a series of new analysts and reporters that will help tell the stories that matter most to the fans.

Fans can catch every game, both home and away, live on BOUNCE 96.1, as well as on BounceRadio.caiHeartRadio.ca, and the iHeartRadio Canada app. Every Wheat Kings game will also be streamed via the WHL Live streaming service.

A refreshed Wheat Kings Official Team Podcast will return for season three and will be available on YouTube, Spotify, Apple Podcasts, and Google Play. Additionally, plans are in place for a new “Home Game Day” digital show featuring exclusive interviews, behind the scenes coverage along with discussion and analysis from every game.


1947-48 – Jim Craig |CKX
1948-50 – Jim Kielback | CKX
1950-58 – Ken Milton | CKX
1958-65 – Henry Stothard | CKX
1965-66 – Bob Davidson |CKX
1966-69 – Marv Saxberg | CKX
1969-74 – Cliff Jones | CKX
1974-76 – Gary Thom | CKX
1976-77 – Brian Swain | CKX
1977-78 – Larry Hyatt | CKX
1978-79 – Mike Sposito | CKX
1979-80 – Dick Gibson | CKX
1980-82 – Bruce Buchanan | CKX
1982-83 – Peter Schultz | CKX
1983-85 – Lee Powell | CKX
1985-86 – Rick Dillabough | CKLQ
1986-87 – Mike Beauregard | CKX
1987-90 – Glen Dufresne | CKX
1990-91 – Rick Dillabough | CKLQ
1991-92 – Glen Dufresne | CKX
1992-93 – Darren Dreger & Daren Millard | CKLQ
1993-2016 – Bruce Luebke, Ron Popplestone & Peter Gerlinger | CKLQ
2016-2021 – Branden Crowe & Peter Gerlinger | Q Country