Rick Borotsik appointed to the Manitoba Municipal Board


The Manitoba government has appointed eight new members to the Manitoba Municipal Board, Municipal Relations Minister Jeff Wharton announced today.

“We are pleased to add these new appointees to the board and look forward to the important contributions they will make,” said Wharton.  “These individuals all bring a tremendous amount of knowledge and experience which will ensure the Manitoba Municipal Board can address longstanding challenges and work effectively for Manitobans.”

Gilles Vielfaure (Portage la Prairie), Rick Borotsik (Brandon), Roxane Anderson (Selkirk), Donald Mitchelson (Winnipeg), Margaret Bonekamp (St. Georges), Amit Kapoor (Winnipeg), Valerie Whyte (Pukatawagan) and Michael Kowalson (Winnipeg) have all been appointed to the board.  Steven Lupky (Winnipeg) has been reappointed to the board.

The Manitoba Municipal Board is a quasi-judicial tribunal established under The Municipal Board Act.  The act sets out the general provisions respecting the board’s operations.  Other provincial statutes, such as The Municipal Act, The Municipal Assessment Act and The Planning Act, also give the board jurisdiction to make decisions or recommendations about various matters.

The Manitoba Municipal Board recently launched an innovative new appeal management process to address the long-term challenge of outstanding assessment appeals in Manitoba, Wharton noted.  The board held significant consultations with the City of Winnipeg and provincial assessment departments and tax agents who currently have outstanding appeals, he said, adding that to date, approximately 2,500 files remain open, some dating back to 2009.

The minister thanked outgoing board members for their service.