Brandon Atom AA Wheat Kings win gold, 3 other champions crowned

Atom AA Champions - Atom AA Wheat Kings

The second week of the 49th annual Brandon Tournament of Champions hockey tournament wrapped up today as champions were crowned in four different divisions. The tournament featured teams in the Atom A, Atom AA, Bantam A, and Bantam AA divisions. The 3-day tournament drew teams from all over including Minot, Winnipeg, Dyden, Swift Current, Moose Jaw and more.

Atom AA

The Brandon Atom AA Wheat Kings (pictured above) required a shootout to eventually topple the Minot Wolves 7-6, in the Atom AA finals. The game was tied at 6 after three periods and neither team was able to find the back of the net in the overtime frame. Jaxon Jacobson had a 3 point afternoon for the Wheat Kings on the strength of 2 goals and 1 assist. Loughlan McMullan (2 g), Ethan Stewart (1g,1a) and Cole Temple (1g, 1a) each picked up 2 points in the win. Minot was lead offensively by Easton Panasuk (2g, 1a), Aidan Diehl (1g, 2a) and Teegan Strand (2g).

Atom A

Tyson Draper scored 3 goals and added an assist to lead the Virden Junior Oil Capitals to a 5-4 victory over the Dauphin Kings, in the Atom A division. Draper was dominant all weekend racking up 27 points in only 4 games. Colten James chipped in with a goal and an assist for the Oil Capitals who also received a goal from Conner Hoemsen. Dauphin received goals from Easton Odut (2), Ethan Carnegie, and Boston Karlson, in the loss.

Atom A Champions – Virden Oil Capitals

Bantam A

The McCreay Mustangs scored three 3rd period goals en route to upending the Rivers Jets 5-1 in the Bantam A finals, played at the Kinsmen Arena Sunday afternoon. Nelson Lepla had a big game for the Mustangs scoring twice and adding an assist. The Mustangs received single markers off the sticks of Ryan Benson, Kayden Caumartin, & Riley Zdan. Three other skaters (Sheldon Mutch, Drake Pahl, & Shane Shura-Froaes) reached the score-sheet, each compiling 2 assists. Terrance Crampaign was the lone marksmen for the Jets to beat Mustang’s goalie JP Pelletier.

Bantam A Champs – McCreary Mustangs

Bantam AA

Liam Cox-Smith amassed 2 goals and 4 assists in the championship final of the Bantam AA division to lead the Minot Wolves to a 7-0 shutout victory over the Seine River Snipers. Also scoring for the Wolves was Benn Bonebrake (2), Aiden Morelli, Ashton Hillman & Riley Opperude. Cox-Smith was the Wolves offensive catalyst all weekend racking up 18 points in just 5 games played. Tre Sortland picked up the shutout.

Bantam AA champs – Minot Wolves