Brandon Wheat Kings Atom AA Champions, Moose Jaw & Killarney/Boissevsin also victorious

Photo Brandon Wheat Kings Atom AA Champions! (

The second and final weekend of the 50th annual Brandon A&W Tournament of Champions concluded today with bragging rights being decided in three different divisions.  Thirty-six teams competed over the weekend including teams from Minot, Winnipeg. Steinbach, Estevan, Regina and more.

The Moose Jaw Warriors had an easy time of it in the Atom A final with a lopsided 10-2 victory over the Souris Elks. Carter Hudyma had a big game for Moose Jaw tallying 5 goals and adding an assist. Brodyn Pladson added 3 goals for Moose Jaw. Ivy Perkin and Slater Anderson each resisted a goal and an assist in a losing cause for Souris.

The days second championship final saw the Brandon AA Wheat Kings score a narrow 6-5 decision over the APHA Winter Hawks Tuxedo to claim the Atom AA Division. Daylan Duncalfe and Jonah Lemoine each dented the twine twice for the hometown Wheat Kings. Cole Dupuis chipped in with a goal and two assists in securing the win. David Sudoski and Adrian Braun each pick up 3 points (1g, 2a) for the Winter Hawks.

Nicholas Cullen and Ashton Cuvelier had two goals and two assists each to pace the Killarney/Boissevsin Stars to a convincing 6-0 win over the McCreary Mustangs. McCreary was the defending Bantam A champions. Killarney/Boissevsin stormed through the division outscoring opponents 27 to 5 overall in the 4 games they played.