Ching and Cox collect top honours


Photo & Story Brandon University Bobcats

Monday night saw the official conclusion to the 2016-17 season for BU Athletics, and stand-outs Roy Ching and Keisha Cox took home top honours as the BU male and female athletes of the year.

The two were honoured at the annual Bobcats year-end awards banquets at Brandons Victoria Inn, wrapping up an evening that celebrated the accomplishments of BU athletes and teams this past season.

Prior to Ching and Cox being honoured, John Paul won the illustrious Jim Casey award while Jaycee Castle was presented with the H.S. Perdue award. Team awards were also presented including MVP honours to Tyvon Cooper (men’s basketball), Jade Barrault (women’s soccer), Pierre Erickson-Smith (men’s soccer), Mary Thomson (women’s volleyball), as well as Ching and Cox for men’s volleyball and women’s basketball respectively.

Ching becomes the second member of the BU men’s volleyball team to win the R.J. McCarthy male athlete of the year award in back-to-back seasons. Ching also becomes one of just seven BU athletes to earn the distinction multiple times in the awards nearly 50-year history. Ching was outstanding in all areas as as student-athlete, earning his second straight Canada West all-star award and his second consecutive all-Canadian selection. On top of his on the court performance, Ching is also an academic all-Canadian and gives back to his community as a volunteer coach.

Keisha Cox picks up her first athlete of the year award in just her second season with the Bobcats. In doing so she becomes the first member of the BU women’s basketball team to be named female athlete of the year in 12 seasons. Cox was outstanding in 2016-17, leading the team in every major statistical category, and more importantly, leading the Bobcats back to the playoffs for the first time in more than two decades. Cox was also chosen as the BU athlete of the month twice this season, the first time that’s happened since the Bobcats started the current athlete of the month program.

John Paul is known around the Canada West conference for his size, ability, and remarkable attitude and approach to the game. The product of St. Lucia joined the Bobcats last season and became one of the elite defenders in the conference, but the gentle giant is known for being a constant source of positivity and energy, as well as displaying sportsmanship to opponents and officials alike. Paul’s tireless work ethic is a source of inspiration to any and all who look up to the towering centre.

    Jaycee Castle enjoyed a stellar season thanks to her leadership, commitment, and team-first attitude, which catapulted the Bobcats women’s soccer team to the best season in program history. Castle was instrumental in the Bobcats’ undefeated outdoor season, the program’s first MCAC championship, and helping get back to the playoffs in the indoor season. The Brandon product led the team in scoring en route to the MCAC title, for which she was named Final Four MVP. Castle’s season also marks another big first for the BU soccer program, as this is the first major award to be given to a Bobcats soccer student-athlete.


Here’s the complete list of award winners from Monday night:

Men’s Soccer
Rookie of the Year
Nolan Melanson

Inspirational Award
Dillon Grant

Most Valuable Player
Pierre Erickson-Smith

Women’s Soccer
Rookie of the Year
Chelsea Plett

Inspirational Award
Cailee Plante

Most Valuable Player
Jade Barrault

Men’s Basketball
Rookie of the Year
Kobyn Jopp

James O. Dollings Inspirational Award
Earl Thompson Jr

Jerry Hemmings Most Valuable Player
Tyvon Cooper

Women’s Basketball
Rookie of the Year
Adrianna Proulx

Tracy McLeod Inspirational Award
Kinsley Ransom

Most Valuable Player
Keisha Cox

Men’s Volleyball
Rookie of the Year
Elliott Viles

Bill Gadd Inspirational Award
Chayse Warkentin

Most Valuable Players
Roy Ching & Jeremy Davies

Women’s Volleyball
Rookie of the Year
Rayvn Wiebe

Daryle McCannell Inspirational Award
Courtney Roberts

Most Valuable Player
Mary Thomson

Student Union Service Award
Jade Barrault
Taylor Blue
Denham Buchanan
Jaycee Castle
Osian Edwards
Dillon Grant
Kylee Howard
Holly Kalyniuk
Jessica Kalyniuk
Nikala Majewski
Brady Nault
Daven Pascal
Bailee Ploshynsky
Courtney Roberts
Earl Thompson Jr.
James Weir

Doug Crandle Award
Men’s Basketball
Student-Athlete Achievement Award
Denham Buchanan

H. S. Perdue Memorial Award
Jaycee Castle

Jim Casey Memorial Award
John Paul

Nancy Stanley Award
Outstanding Female Athlete
Keisha Cox

R.J. McCarthy Award
Outstanding Male Athlete
Roy Ching

The Bobcats year-end awards banquet concludes the 2016-17 season of competition and events for Brandon University Athletics. Bobcat athletes, coaches, and staff wish to thank all fans, supporters and sponsors for another tremendous season, and look forward to another great season in 2017-18. Thank you Bobcat Nation!