Finalists Set in the THHL


The finals in the Tiger Hills Hockey League has been set, as the Killarney Shamrocks will square off against the Carberry Plainsmen in the best of 5 Championship Series. Killarney is coming off a regular season which saw them go undefeated, 17-0, while outscoring opponents 138-42 in the process. The Shamrocks have been lead upfront, in the post season, by Jessie Bernard (17pts, 8gp), Ryan Howatt (16pts, 9gp), and Aubrey Chapman (15pts, 8gp). Former Brandon Wheat King defensemen, Reid Gow leads the team in playoff scoring with 23 points. Brian Archibald, who played parts of 3-seasons in the MJHL, is the Shamrocks goalie. Killarney defeated Souris 4 games to 1, and then swept Hartney (4-0) to advance to the finals.

Carberry, who battled to a 12-6 regular season mark, has really hit their stride in the playoffs. They started off the post season by knocking out MacGregor in 3 straight games, and then dispatched (4-1) of both Minnedosa and Neepawa in their respective best of 7 series. Brandon products Zeanan Ziemer (29pts,12gp) and Brock Sutherland (24pts,12gp) lead the Plainsmen in playoff scoring. Brett Kitt and Riley Day, both Wheat King alumni, are also members of the Plainsmen roster. Brett Willows, who suited up for 4 seasons with the University of Toronto, is one of the Carberry goalies.

The series gets underway on Saturday, March the 18th in Killarney. Game time is 7:30.