Ian Grant appointed to the Manitoba Human rights Commission


Manitoba Justice has appointed two new members to the Manitoba Human Rights Commission (MHRC) and selected a new vice-chair.

The MHRC is responsible for administering The Human Rights Code in the province, ensuring all Manitobans are treated solely on the basis of personal merit and free from discrimination.

John Burchill, a current MHRC member, has been selected to serve as vice-chair.  He was reappointed to the MHRC in October 2017 and is currently a civilian manager with the Winnipeg Police Service.  He has over 25 years’ experience as a police officer, served as a Crown attorney for Manitoba Justice, and taken training related to hate crimes and human rights.  Burchill assumes the role of vice-chair from Loretta Ross, who remains on the board and has been reappointed to a one-year term.

Ian Grant and Tracy Leipsic have been newly appointed as members of the MHRCC.  Grant is the former chief of police of the Brandon Police Service and has been a member of law enforcement since 1980.  Leipsic is a speed-skating coach, has worked as an insurance broker and served on many community and non-profit boards.