Local Flavor to 2016 Allan Cup


The South East Prairie Thunder are this years' host team of the Allan Cup, a trophy awarded annually to the national senior amateur men's ice hockey champions. The tournament which is to held in Steinbach from April 11-16th features many familiar names to followers of the Brandon Wheat Kings.

The Prairie Thunder have many former Wheat Kings on their roster including Justin Kurtz, Tyler Dittmer, Terry Yake, Daniel Tetrault, and Del Cowan. Westman fans may also recognize the names of local products Mike Hellyer and Kevin Saurette who are also part of the roster.

Allan Cup 2016 Logo

Another Manitoba team the Ile des Chenes North Stars also qualified for the tournament and they too feature a few former Wheat Kings. Listed as part of the North Stars roster are defensemen Chad Erb and Reid Gow. The Thunder also have many players with ties to the Westman area including Ryan Adams, Travis Mealy, Devon Leblanc and Zeanan Zimmer,

To follow the action the week of the tournament please visit: http://www.allancup.ca/