MB Teams Load Up With Brandon/Westman Talent for Allan Cup Run


The South East Prairie Thunder will be looking to represent Manitoba at the Allan Cup, a trophy awarded annually to the national senior amateur men's ice hockey champions. Once again their roster is loaded with names familiar to hockey fans both in Brandon, and the Westman region. Among those listed on the roster: Andy Zulyniak, Reid Gow, Tyler Dittmer, Matt Lowry, Paul Ciarelli, Dylan Kelly, Del Cowan and Terry Yake.

Their Manitoba opponent is the Île-des-Chênes North Stars, who also feature a few former Wheat Kings, and names familiar to those who follow senior hockey in the province. Daniel Tetrault, Darren Bestland, Aaron Lewadniuk, are all former Wheat Kings listed on the Stars roster. Killarney's Isaac Friesen, Portage's Tanner Waldvogel, and Neepawa Natives assistant coach Ryan Menei also appear on the North Stars roster.

The Thunder currently lead the Île-des-Chênes North Stars 1-0, in the best of five series. The winner of this series moves on to play the Rosetown Redwings, for the Rathgaber Cup, and a birth into the Allan Cup Hockey Tournament. One-time Wheat King forward Derek Leblanc leads a Redwings team, a team that is scheduled to host the Allan Cup in 2018.

Game Schedule:

Mon Feb 201:15 PM Île-des-Chênes 6 vs South East 8
Sun Feb 26 4:30 PM South East vs Île-des-Chênes
Sun Mar 5 7:00 PM Île-des-Chênes vs South East
Sun Mar 12 2:00 PM South East vs Île-des-Chênes If Needed
TBA Île-des-Chênes vs South East If Needed

To follow the action the week of the Allan Cup tournament please visit: http://www.allancup.ca/. This year's tournament will be played in Bouctouche, NB from April 10-15.