North Central Hockey League adds 3, loses 1


Teams from Foxwarren, Rivers and Swan River were accepted into the North Central Hockey League for the 2016-17 season.  The Kenton Cougars were also granted a 1-year leave of absence at the fall meeting held on the 25th of September in Hamiota.    With these new additions the league now sits with a total of eight teams and will be divided into North & South Divisions.  Each team will play a 20 game regular season schedule.  Last season the league ran with a total of 6 teams with Moosomin eventually winning the league title.

In other senior hockey news in the province, the MacGregor Wild have joined the Tiger Hills Hockey League for the 16/17 season.  The addition of the Wild brings the total number of teams in the THHL to 13.

North Central Hockey League