Champions crowned in 5 different age groups at the AAA Summer Hockey Challenge

Photo by Scramble Studio

The 2022 Source for Sports AAA Summer Hockey Challenge wrapped up Monday, a day later then originally scheduled. Tournament officials had to work quickly to re-adjust the game schedule, after having to cancel a slate of games on Thursday due to last week’s storm. The annual tournament hosted 40 teams competing in five different age groups. Week two of the tournament takes place May 6-8, 2022 with teams in the 2009 & 2008 age groups hitting the ice.


In the 2014 championship game played at the J and G Homes Arena, Synergy upended WCHA 6-5 to claim the title. Drew Derlago, who scored the eventual game winner late in the third, held the hot hand for Synergy registering three goals and an assist. Carter Mangin, Kennedy Filiwich & Kase Leslie also scored for Synergy. Bentley Crowe and Trey Warburton replied with two goals each for WCHA.


Sask-Can received goals from 6 different skaters en route to an 8-5 victory over the Parkland Thunder in the 2011 championship game. Caleb Philp & Parker Bleich scored twice while Ty Doran, Jesse Scriven, Grayden Little, & Bryer Loose each chipped in with a goal a piece. Cole Kemp had a monster game recording 5 assists in the win. Drew Luhowy lead the way offensively for the Thunder notching 4 goals while teammate Rhett Legaarden added 1.

2011 Champions (Photo by Scramble Studio)


The Yellowhead Chiefs received three goals from Emmit Bell in Sunday’s 2012 final, knocking off MB Force 6-5. For Yellowhead, single markers came off the sticks of Ryden Derlago, Tripp Warburton & Remmie Watson. Ryler Perrin (1g,2a), Holden Andrews (2g,1a) & Blake Gavigan (1g,2a) each picked up three points for the Force in the loss.


The Southeast Bruins won all 6 of their games to claim the 2013 title. Monday morning’s final saw the Bruins dispose of the PV Heat 6-2. Finn Cruise (3), Dryden Kuhl (2), & Tanner Preteau (1) scored for the Bruins while Xander Jowett picked up the win in net. Cade Driedger and Beckett Bileski each dented the twine once for the Heat.


Jake Hawthorne and Graham Gard each recorded hat trucks as the Chill cruised to a decisive 11-3 victory over the Wheatland Wild Gold in the 2010 title game. Landon Prichodko also sniped twice for the Chill who went undefeated throughout the tournament. Kolbie McColl paced the Wild offensively with two apples.

2010 Champions (Photo by Scramble Studio)