Devon Leblanc, Derek Leblanc, Tyler Dittmer lead SE Prairie Thunder to Allan Cup berth


The South East Prairie Thunder are off to their 7th consecutive Allan Cup championship  after sweeping the Ste-Anne Aces in their best of 3 series. The Thunder required double overtime to defeat the Aces 4-3 in the first game. In game 2, Devon Leblanc scored twice while Derek Leblanc and Tyler Dittmer chipped in with singles to lead the Thunder to a 4-0 series clinching victory. They will now represent Manitoba at the Allan Cup tournament next month in Lacombe, Alberta to determine the national senior amateur men’s ice hockey champion.

Like the Thunder have done in previous years, they have once again dipped into Brandon and the Westman region to help fill their roster. Paul Ciarelli and Reid Gow join Derek Leblanc and Tyler Dittmer as former Brandon Wheat Kings on the squad. Other names of interest to hockey fans in the area include Brock Nixon, Ian Lowe, Brad Cole, Troy Hunter, and Kris Westblom.