Monsters, North Stars, Titans skate their way to championships


The third and final week on the Source for Sports AAA Summer Hockey Challenge concluded earlier today with championship hardware being handed out in three different divisions. Sean White was named the tournament’s top referee while Derek Sobkow and Cole McCaig shared the “Tyler Coulter Award” as the tournaments most dedicated coach.


In the U10 finals, Jade Pelland (2), Reese Shuttie, Shayla Scinocca, and Abby Oughton all scored for the Manitoba Monsters (pictured above) as they upended the Manitoba Hawks 5-1. Adriana Pepe picked up three assists for the Monsters. The Monsters only surrendered 2 goals in their five games played over the weekend. Payton Henwood relied for the Hawks in a losing cause.


Brooke Barylski scored 2 goals, including the eventual game winner, to lead the North Stars to a narrow 3-2 victory over the Westman Frostbite. Mackenzie Lizotte added a single marker for the North Stars. Dara Thompson scored both goals for the Frostbite.

U12 CHAMPS – North Stars


The AHA Titans (pictured below) trailed the North Stars 2-0, before storming back to score three unanswered goals in claiming the U14 title. Scoring for the Ttians were Janelle Evans, Julia Duke, and Amy Divernichuk. Chloe Sorenson registered 27 saves in picking up the win. Tessa Stewart and Kate Johnson scored for the North Stars.