Ice Kings capture 2012 title, three additional champions crowned


The 2021 edition of the AAA Hockey Challenge wrapped up Sunday with champions being crowned in 4-different age groups.


The Ice Kings (pictured above) blew through the competition en route to claiming the 2012 title. Kale Nicol racked up nine points (6g,3a) in Sunday’s final as the Ice Kings toppled the Pilot Mound Buffaloes 11-8. Emmitt Bell also recorded a hat trick for the Ice Kings, while Nixon Buskell chipped in with four points on the strength of one goal and three assists. Dawson Densmore replied with three goals for the Buffaloes.


Meanwhile, in the 2011 age division final at the Enns Brothers Arena, the Pembina Valley Heat knocked off the MB Extreme 9-3 in Sunday’s final. Shane Pethybridge set the pace for the Heat netting three goals while teammates Mason Froese and Gavin Gacuta each dented the twine twice. Jayden Veeder added 3 assists. Bentley Peters scored twice for the Extreme.

PV Heat


Markus Knaub and Noah Prejet both scored three goals as the Pilot Mound Buffaloes upended the MB Jr. Ice 14-3 in the 2010 age group championship. Gavin Anderson (2g,2a), Levi Hill (2g2a), and Maddox Ramage (4a) each registered four points a piece in the championship game. Shae Streu & Eli Wasylyk both picked up two points for the Jr. Ice in the loss.

Pilot Mound Buffaloes – 10


In the 2009 final, Wheatland Wild beat the MB Stars Females 8-0 on the strength of one goal and three assists from Jack Robinson. Brady Silvernagle and Maxon Johnston had two goal performances for the Wild, while Kaleb Page earned the shutout.