KW Canucks, SV Stampeders & Saskatoon Kodiaks claim titles at Tournament of Champions

KW Canucks win the Novice A Championship. (Photo: Brandon TOC) Noah Alexander, Tate Barnaby. Noah Bennett, Noah Bonds, Knox Burton. Nolan Coy, Atley Feniuk, Jacob Knox, Samuel Kotz, Spencer Kuntz., Madden McGregor. Nolan McPherson. Elliott Ortlieb, Landon Prichodko. Joseph Schaubroeck

The first week of the 49th annual Brandon Tournament of Champions hockey tournament wrapped up today as champions were crowned in three different divisions. The tournament featured teams in the Novice A, Pee Wee A, and Pee Wee AA divisions. The 3-day tournament drew teams from all over including Minot, Winnipeg, Dyden, Saskatoon, Moose Jaw and more.

Week 2 of the tournament gets underway this upcoming weekend and will feature teams in the Atom and Bantam divisions.

Over in the Novice A championship final, the KW Canucks (pictured above) received 5 goals from Knox Burton on their way to defeating the Minot Wolves 9-3. Burton was a force all weekend picking up 15 points in 4 games played. Samuel Kotz also had a big afternoon for the Canucks registering 4 points on 2 goals and 2 assists. Landon Prichodko and Nolan Coy each chipped in with singles for the Canucks. Colin Grubb, Keller Schmiechel, and Jaeger Johannes each dented the twine for the Wolves in the loss.

Domi Leask scored 3 goals and added 2 assists to help the Swan Valley Stampeders overpower the Steinbch Millers 5-2 in the Pee Wee A Division final. Will Munro chipped in with 2 goals and Bo Eisner had 2 assists in the win. Haiden Willis & Job Peters replied with single markers for the Millers. Net minder Nate Immerkar picked up the win for the Stampeders who won all 4 of their games on the weekend outscoring their opponents 18-4 in the process.

Swan Valley – Pee Wee A champs!! (Photo Brandon TOC)
Jackson Badowski, Eli Betcher, Brady Burghart, Bo Eisner, Kaden Ferland, Kash Henkelman, Bailey Hunt, Nate Immerkar, Domi Leask, Samantha Moshenko, Will Munro, Tyan Mykula, Andrew Pidskalny, Wyatt Rose

The Saskatoon Kodiaks scored 3 first period goals en route to a nail-biting 5-4 victory over the Minot Wolves in the Pee Wee AA final. Tayden Cousins scored twice for the Kodiaks while singles came off the sticks of Roger McQueen, Reid Andresen & Trae Wikkie. Jacob McCarthy made some huge saves late in the game to preserve the win for the team from Saskatoon. Dylan Bast replied for the Wolves.

Saskatoon Kodiaks Pee Wee AA champs! (Photo: Brandon TOC)
Reid Andresen, Brody Benson, Tayden Cousins, Matthew Edwards, Aidan Joyce, Phoenix LaRose, Evan Lucier Pierson Main, Spencer Mayerle, Jacob McCarthy, Roger McQueen, Noah Mitchell, Braden Neinaber, Brendan Quinn-Lagria, Luca Salmaso, Tyrone Sobry, Trae Wilkie