2004 MB Bruins Capture MB Lightning AAA Spring Classic Hockey Tournament

The MB Bruins, a team comprised of hockey players mainly from Brandon and the Westman area, captured the 2004 age division of the Manitoba Lightning AAA Spring Classic Hockey Tournament held in Winnipeg over the weekend.  They used goal scoring from five different players on route to a 5-3 victory over the Manitoba Lightning in the tournament final.  Layton Veitch, Zane Dyck, Reid Jonasson, Brenden Keeble, and Ethan Guthrie all managed to beat Lightnings goalie Alex Pauls.  Nathan Braun picked up the win in net for the Bruins.  The Bruins went 5-1 over the weekend and were lead offensively by Callum Halls who had 14 points and Zane Dyck who had 12 points in the five games.

Another team made up of players primarily from Brandon and area, the 2007 MB Steel, also participated in the tournament and finished the weekend with a record of 2 wins and 3 losses.  Earlier in the spring the Steel had captured the 2007 age division of the Source for Sports AAA Summer Hockey Challenge held in Brandon each year.