OCN Blizzard Folding Operations



The Opaskwayak Cree Nation (OCN) have made an announcement that the 2016/17 season would be the last for the OCN Blizzard. The Blizzard are a member of the Manitoba Junior Hockey League and play out of the Gordon Lathlin Memorial Centre. They have won the Turnball Cup, awarded annually to the MJHL Champion, a total of 5-times in their 20-year existence. The Blizzard were founded in 1996 by the Opaskwayak Cree Nation near The Pas, Manitoba

"The announcement comes after careful deliberations with Opaskwayak Cree Nation representatives from administration and finance, who presented recommendations to the Opaskwayak Cree Nation leadership,"

"Based on the information presented, the decision was made to proceed with winding down on the operations of the OCN Blizzard, announced officially on December 20, 2016."

Notable alumni of the Blizzard include current Chicago Blackhawks winger Jordin TooToo and Steve MacIntyre, who played in 91 NHL games with three different teams.