OERHL holds annual draft, Sanheim goes 1st overall


The Olde English Road Hockey League (OERHL), Brandon’s premier ball hockey league, held their annual draft earlier tonight at the Westridge Community Centre. The Brookwood Bombers had the first overall selection and used the pick to take Philadelphia Flyers defensemen Travis Sanheim. Bombers owner Mason Kaspick was obviously very pleased to take Sanheim 1st overall. “Coming into the season, we are obviously the youngest team in the league and I was looking to add that veteran presence to our blueline…Sanheim fills that void” said Kaspick. “He’s a big bodied defensemen who can chip in offensively when called upon” he added.

Former Brandon Wheat Kings captain Connor Gutenberg was then quickly snapped up by the Grimace at #2. To close the first round, the draft saw two former Moose Jaw Warriors get picked back to back as the Moose Knuckles get Tate Popple at #3 and the reigning champion Tobacco Kings get Calder Anderson at #4.

In total 20 players heard their name called this evening. Draft time: 16 minutes, 28 seconds

Each OERHL team will play 6 games this season, prior to playoffs. Games are played every Tuesday night at the Westridge Community Centre. You can follow the league’s Instagram account here.

Prior to the OERHL Draft, teams submitted five auto-protect selections from last year’s team. Auto-protected players are listed below:

Brookwood Bombers
Mason Kaspick (owner)
Dylan Halliday
Rylan Thiessen
Nate Hunter
Sam Huston
Nolan Ritchie (g)

Green Acres Grimace
Brayden Bertone (owner)
Mike Butler
Cody Gallant
Ty Moffat
Reid ‘Cheese’ Hunter
Connor Dalton (g)

Linden Lanes Knuckles
Cole McCaig (owner)
Taylor Wells
Jordon Robertson
Troy Hamilton
Tyler Coulter
Brad Schoonbaert (g)

East Side Kings
Jesse Linner (owner)
Josh Elmes
Jaxon Elmes
Tanner Kaspick
Jesse Bernard
Riley Feser (g)